Death Machine mistranslation!

Hi all,

Less of an article today and more of a quick post incase anyone needs to refer to how Death Machine actually works (with sources) incase it actually comes up in a tournament.

The current printed text we have for Death Machine in English is:

Each turn, at the beginning of Main Phase 1, if neither player controls Forwards, put Death Machine into the Break Zone.
At the end of your turn, choose 1 Forward opponent controls. Break it.
At the end of your opponent’s turn, select 1 Forward you control. Put it into the Break Zone.

Unfortunately, this isn’t right. According to the text on the Japanese version of Death Machine, the text should be:

Each turn, at the beginning of Main Phase 1, if either player controls no Forwards, put Death Machine into the Break Zone.
At the end of your turn, choose 1 Forward opponent controls. Break it.
At the end of your opponent’s turn, select 1 Forward you control. Put it into the Break Zone.

This means you can now play around the rather oppressive Death Machine by simply playing no forwards and waiting for it to die!

Source is here: https://twitter.com/HJ_Dev/status/1118801126717972480

Announcement from Square Enix: https://fftcg.square-enix-games.com/en/news/errata-for-death-machine

And here’s a translation of the Hobby Japan reply:

Deathmachine

Thanks to Eureka, Lossley, Ban, Crossmasher & of course Hobby Japan for providing clarity on this!

57504582_1363368997172010_1364777909012660224_n

One thought on “Death Machine mistranslation!”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s